Preliminary Thoughts on the Oscar Nominees

These aren’t predictions. These are just precursor thoughts that I had while watching the 2014 Oscar nominees announced this morning. And because I am self-important and pretentious, I thought I’d share them all with you.

On the Best Supporting Actress nominations:
I’ll be the first to say I love Jennifer Lawrence, but let’s have this be a shocker year so we can see Lupita Nyong’o win in a redemption attempt for Quvenzhane Wallis’ loss last year.

On Amy Adams’ nomination for best actress in American Hustle:
Give the girl something. She’s like the female Leo — always a bridesmaid, never a winner.

On Jonah Hill getting a best supporting actor nomination for The Wolf Of Wall Street:
Wow. That means the kid from Superbad now has two Oscar nominations. That’s two more than Peter Lore, Jeff Daniels, Steve Buscemi, John Barrymore, Donald Sutherland, Richard Gere…(trails off).

On Matthew McConaughey on his best actor nomination for Dallas Buyers Club:
Oh, please let him win. It might mean Leo continues to go without an Oscar, but I really want someone to actually say “All right, all right, all right!” when walking up to that mic stand.

On The Butler being snubbed:
What, you can only nominate one African-American-based movie a year? We all know there’s nothing more white-bread than the Oscars, but in the words of Gob Bluth, “Come on!”

On the documentary nominees:
All but one of the feature-length documentaries were at True/False Film Festival last year. Although I didn’t see The Act of Killing (it’s on Netflix!), 20 Feet From Stardom or Cutie and the Boxer, I did see Dirty Wars and sold the producer of it some T/F merch. So please let Dirty Wars win, so I can be one degree from holding an Oscar.

On the original song nominees:
Sorry, T-Swift. I’m starting to think you might just get Golden Globe nominations because everyone who goes wants to see what Tina Fey and Amy Poehler are going to say about you. But on a kinder note, Pharrell Williams is up for “Happy,” from Despicable Me 2. That makes me want to clap my hands because I “feel like a room without a roof.” Here’s hoping the Minions show up for a live performance.

(Because the lyric video is so cute, I’m shoving it in right here:)

On the original score nominees:
I’ve made my Spotify playlist sans the score for Her because it’s not available yet. But let’s just say I’ve already cast my vote in the form of ordering the actual CD of Steven Price’s Gravity score from Amazon. It’s here, and it’s AMAZING.

On all of the writing nominees:
If there’s one thing that makes the stuffed-shirt Oscar night better than the Golden Globes, it’s the separation of adaptation and original screenplays. Way to mix it up this year by adding in PhilomenaBlue Jasmine and Before Midnight into the mix. And wow, there’s actually two women out of the 15 people nominated!

On all those technicals no one cares about:
Well I care! And guess what? Gravity is going to SWEEP.

See you March 2 at the Oscars (and before then with my reviews and prediction post!)

I love reading as much as writing: leave me a message!

