The big One-Oh-Oh; or, 100 posts and still going sarcastic

A lot can happen in two years, and even more in 100 posts. Society can change, tragedy can happen, my faith in Justin Timberlake can be restored. OK, these three things could be considered synonymous, but I HAVE NO SHAME. Have you taken a listen to The 20/20 Experience?

But I digress. I’ve done that a lot in the last 100 posts.

To celebrate my big one-oh-oh, I thought I’d look back at some of the best of Quills and Typewriters since starting it in February 2011.

That whole journalism thing? I like it. No, not like it. LOVE it.

I started out writing about how this was going to be my professional blog detailing every moment of my journalism education at the University of Missouri, and then there was that rather pretentious piece about how I had a “soapy hand premonition” of working for a real magazine. Several reviews, rants and self-explorations later, blogging is still a way I explain and think through my decisions as a magazine writer and editor.

Some of the better posts I’ve written include coverage of my Interviewing Essentials class in April 2012, an exploration of how Harry Potter made me want to be a journalist and a brief stop-off in the land of photojournalism (made more pleasant by the presence of Joseph Gordon-Levitt).

But I think the best journalism-related post was the debriefing of my first General Assignment shift. In 2011 I had the opportunity to see Maya Angelou speak, and her motto, “I am a human being. Nothing human can be alien to me” really resonated with me, even later when I dealt with my first news story at the Missourian, about a missing man who’s body had been found. It was one of the tougher posts to write, but I turn back to it often to remind myself that I’m a pretty lucky gal to be where I am today.

Other people apparently like my writing.

Since starting Quills and Typewriters, I’ve gotten more than 100 followers, 67 comments and countless Facebook and WordPress likes. Without those, I probably would continue writing, but without the same motivation I have when I know that each post gets delivered into email inboxes as soon as I press “Publish.”

I’ve also gotten two reposts (that I know of). My post on Jon Hamm’s rumored visit to MU and the journalistic implications of covering it was reposted on LippSisters.com, which at the time was in its infancy as the premier Mad Men blog. A media blog linked to my piece on whether journalism is an art or a science.

Heck, I even got in touch with film critic Michael Phillips of the Chicago Tribune through a post I wrote about his Dark Knight Returns review. Ah, the power of writing.

I'M BATMAN
Or, rather, the power of Batman with an extra-large berry lemonade slush from Sonic. Two guesses which one’s me, and the first one doesn’t count.

I officially dubbed myself Queen of All Movie Knowledge.

The worst thing that ever happened to my non-movie-fiend friends and family was my declaration of a film studies minor. Now they get bombarded with my reviews of pretentious films and obsession over Christopher Nolan and Katharine Hepburn. Half my jokes on Quills and Typewriters are cinema-based. I have the audacity to post Oscar nominations. But hopefully all of the annoying film references were made up for by my post on Leonardo DiCaprio’s adventure at the Oscars, which not only was one of my favorite 2 a.m. posts, but also my most-read post of all time (150 views in the first 12 hours).*

Then I had the guts to tweet at @LeoDiCaprio with the link. He has yet to respond, but I can only imagine this was the look on his face if he even did read it:

Who knew?
Well, jeez, Leo. If that’s how you feel about it, I apologize…

I used my writing to make me feel better (and perhaps entertain others). 

One of my favorite non-journalism posts is my calorie counting rant, which just may include the most references I’ve ever made to pop culture and got a lot of positive attention from some very supportive friends. My review of 2012 was a combination of me being thrilled to see the end of a not-the-best year and wanting to brag about all the free shows I had seen. “This is me dating a journalist”  was my way of complaining about being single, just like my piece on female journalists falling in love with superheroes was a justification of my nerdiness.

Harlem Shake, Avengers style
If the other picture wasn’t enough to convince you, this one should leave no room for confusion.

But I think of all of the “Kate needs to release some of the raw emotion pent up inside and giving her dabilitating stomachaches,” my post on The Hunger Games and what it means to an older sister was the most insightful and definitely the most passionate piece I wrote, perhaps on the entire blog.

What to look forward to in the next 100 posts:

More sarcasm. More movie references half my readers won’t get. More criping about journalism ethics.

And more embarrassing/endearing/en-I-don’t-know-what pictures like this one:

Kate, circa 1998
Kate, circa 1998. Before all that superhero oddness started.
I love reading as much as writing: leave me a message!

