So Long, Farewell: A Rogers-and-Hammerstein Goodbye to My Summer Internship

Chances are, if you’re like me, you’ve watched Roger and Hammerstein’s The Sound of Music until the VHS wore out and now wait for the DVD version to go on clearance because $50 is too much to spend on one movie. Also, if you were like me, you wanted desperately to be Liesl but felt like you were probably more like Brigitta.

Liesl, third from the left, was the oldest (she was 16-going-on-17, I seem to recall) and by far the prettiest.

And, since you’re so much like me, you probably know this little diddy from the greatest R&H musical ever written:

On this Thursday morning of my last full day of interning, I have the chance to type out, rather than sing out, “So Long, Farewell,” as I get ready to say so long, farewell, auf Wiedersehen, goodbye to The Chicago Reporter and all the great interns, reporters and editors I met while working there this summer.

The Chicago Reporter staff and interns, at the 40th Anniversary Alumni Party at Navy Pier (July 13, 2012)

Sing along if you’d like: I’m sure a karaoke version is available online for backup:

There’s a sad changing of the calendar on my wall
And the pages in my planner, too
And down in ole’ Missouri, a black and gold tiger
Is popping out to say “Mizzou,”
(Mizzou, Mizzou)

Regretfully he tells me (Mizzou, Mizzou)
But firmly Vox compels me (Mizzou, Mizzou)
To say goodbye . . .
(Mizzou)
. . . to you.

So long, farewell, auf Wiedersehen, goodbye
This summer taught me so much about life.

So long, farewell, Excel and Maptitude,
I’ve loved working on the newest issue.

So long, farewell, transcribing interviews
I’d like to stay in my “Intern Crossing” cube

So long, farewell, dear interns and Maria,
Rui, Toni, Angela, Kimbriell.

Three months rushed by even faster than the L.

I call, I click, investigate and write.

My Metra leaves at five and so must I.

So long, farewell, The Chicago Reporter.
Goodbye, goodbye, goodbye
Goodbye!

I love reading as much as writing: leave me a message!

