The Eternal Sunshine of the Satisfied Mind

From observing life, I can tell you right now that if you want to know if someone is happy, watch them walk. The proverbial “spring in your step” does exist; I’ve had it several times in the past 10 days.

Simply put, for the last week-and-a-half, I’ve been…happy.

And not just happy in that I’m satisfied with my life, laughing a lot, etc. I laugh a lot even when I’m in my darkest places. By happy, I mean that I’m not just living my life well, but also enjoying doing so.

I have a story going on Page One of the Missourian Friday. I have another story becoming a spread in one of our issues. I have 11 stories logged, and I’m only 5 weeks into my reporting experience.

London’s not calling like I thought it was going to; however, like I said, where one door closes another one opens. I’ve made it to the second level of Phi Sigma Pi rush, which is a pleasant surprise that’s made the rushing process much more real for me. Also, I’ve been able to develop a better relationship with some of the people I work with both in the newsroom and out.

But most of all, I’m realizing that journalism really is what I want to do. What was once a “writing to make money” career, then a “this is pretty cool” major is now a career I want to have for the rest of my life. I don’t want to report for the rest of my life, but for now, reporting’s pretty cool.

I think the most important thing to remember is this happy feeling. Kurt Vonnegut once said:

“I urge you to please notice when you are happy, and exclaim or murmur or think at some point, ‘If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.'”

It is nice. I’ve been thinking that all week.

I love reading as much as writing: leave me a message!

