You never give me your money, you only give me your funny paper.

iTunes announced Tuesday that they are now selling Beatle albums…which has me confused as to whether I should be leaping for joy or cringing in the fact that singles of the classics now go for $1.29 along side Ke$ha and Rihanna. Most people own the albums and the songs; that’s why I understand “All You Need Is Love” is not the top song on the charts right now. At the same time, not one Beatle single is up on the top 10 chart. Abbey Road hit the top albums pretty quick, but it’s somewhere around #6. The White Album and Sgt. Pepper are also there, but even lower on the list.

My mum did remind me, however, that she once bought the singles for a few sents at the record stores. I guess iTunes is fairly similar, except now instead of cool, smooth vinyl you get an invisible “file” that downloads right into your computer library. Don’t get me wrong…I’m all for electronic music files. Perhaps the absence of the Beatles on iTunes has solidified my belief that the Beatles should remain material. Now that iTunes has gotten permission to sell the fab four, maybe I’ll start becoming accustomed to Rubber Soul being $12.99.

I’ll give iTunes props, however. They did an excellent job marketing this; everything on their homepage is Beatles. What makes it even greater is the lack of pretty much anything else. Who knew Rihanna came out with a new album? It’s down the page away. Take that, Rihanna. Take that. Now back to blasting “I Am The Walrus.”

Check back Friday for an in-depth review of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 1!

An extra note: God is smiling. My 9 a.m. class on Friday has been cancelled, which means I get an hour more of sleep after a midnight jaunt to the movies!

I love reading as much as writing: leave me a message!

